Restaurant accessibility statistics are best understood as measurements and requirements, not as a nationwide pass-rate estimate. The 2010 ADA Standards specify dimensions and coverage rules for routes, entrances, parking, dining areas, counters, and restrooms. Selected U.S. Department of Justice agreements then show how individual restaurants measured against some of those requirements during particular reviews or site visits.
Contents
- Accessible routes and dining areas
- Entrances, doors, ramps, and thresholds
- Parking and passenger arrival
- Dining surfaces, counters, and lines
- Restrooms and fixtures
- Reach ranges and circulation
- Documented restaurant compliance findings
Accessible routes and dining areas
The 2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design require restaurants and cafeterias to provide 1 accessible route to every dining area, including raised, sunken, and outdoor areas. At least 1 route must also connect the accessible parking area, passenger loading zones, public streets and sidewalks, and public transportation stops to the restaurant entrance they serve.
Public entrance coverage has a separate numerical rule: at least 60% of a facility’s public entrances must comply with accessible-entrance requirements. For an alteration to a primary-function area, path-of-travel work is considered disproportionate when its cost exceeds 20% of the alteration cost for that primary-function area. The standard’s six-item priority order for limited path-of-travel work includes an accessible entrance, route, restroom, telephone, drinking fountain, and additional accessible elements when possible.
An accessible path of travel can include 7 component types: sidewalks, curb ramps, pedestrian ramps, clear floor paths, parking access aisles, elevators, and platform lifts. A walking surface that forms part of an accessible route must have a running slope no steeper than 1:20. A mezzanine dining area may be excepted from an inter-story accessible route when it is less than 25% of the combined seating and dining area and the accessible area provides the same decor and services.
These figures describe design and scoping requirements in the 2010 standards. They do not measure how many restaurants in the United States currently meet them.
Entrances, doors, ramps, and thresholds
Restaurant entrances combine clear width, maneuvering space, vertical changes, and projections. Under the 2010 ADA Standards, an accessible door opening must provide at least 32 inches of clear width. If a doorway is more than 24 inches deep, it must provide at least 36 inches of clear opening width.
Manual swinging doors also have approach-specific clearance measurements. From the pull side, the minimum maneuvering clearance is 60 inches perpendicular to the doorway and 18 inches beyond the latch side. From the push side, the minimum is 48 inches perpendicular to the doorway, with 12 additional inches when a closer and latch are provided.
The main ramp measurements are similarly precise. A ramp run serving an accessible restaurant route must have a running slope no steeper than 1:12, and the cross slope must be no steeper than 1:48. Where space limits require an existing ramp steeper than 1:12, the permitted maximum rise is 3 inches for slopes up to 1:8 or 6 inches for slopes up to 1:10; slopes steeper than 1:8 are prohibited. Accessible-route handrail gripping surfaces must be 34 to 38 inches above the walking, stair, or ramp surface.
At a restaurant door, an accessible threshold may be no higher than 1/2 inch. A level change from 1/4 to 1/2 inch must be beveled with a slope no steeper than 1:2, according to the 2018 settlement requirements associated with the Il Pomod’Oro matter.
Objects with leading edges between 27 and 80 inches above the floor may project no more than 4 inches into an accessible circulation path. That projection limit matters for shelves, displays, signs, and other features near a route.
Parking and passenger arrival
The required number of accessible spaces increases with the size of a parking facility. The following thresholds are from the 2010 ADA Standards:
| Total parking spaces | Minimum accessible spaces |
|---|---|
| 1–25 | 1 |
| 26–50 | 2 |
| 51–75 | 3 |
| 76–100 | 4 |
| 101–150 | 5 |
| 151–200 | 6 |
| 201–300 | 7 |
| 301–400 | 8 |
| 401–500 | 9 |
Parking is only one part of arrival. The accessible route must connect the parking area or passenger loading zone to the entrance it serves. The route can involve curb ramps, sidewalks, pedestrian ramps, access aisles, elevators, or platform lifts, depending on the site. In practical terms, a counted parking space does not by itself establish an accessible trip from a vehicle to the dining room.
One establishment-specific example comes from the Irish Shanti voluntary compliance agreement. An inspection recorded 2 designated accessible parking spaces. The same inspection found a 5% entry-stoop slope that required remediation under the agreement. The finding is tied to that restaurant and its Spring 2017 remediation plan; it is not an estimate for restaurants generally.
Dining surfaces, counters, and lines
Dining-area accessibility includes both the number and distribution of usable positions. The 2010 ADA Standards require at least 5% of seating and standing spaces at restaurant dining surfaces to comply with accessible dining-surface requirements. In the Il Pomod’Oro settlement, 4 accessible wheelchair spaces were required to be dispersed among indoor, outdoor, and bar dining areas. The agreement records a May 14, 2018 site visit and required 4 accessible wheelchair spaces out of 67 available seating spaces, matching the 5% dining-surface rule.
The surface itself must be 28 to 34 inches above the finished floor or ground. For a forward approach, clear floor space must be at least 30 inches wide by 48 inches deep. A compliance review described in the Culver’s of Cedar Falls voluntary compliance agreement used additional under-table measurements: toe clearance had to extend at least 17 inches, while knee clearance had to be at least 11 inches deep at 9 inches above the floor and at least 8 inches deep at 27 inches above the floor. That agreement does not state a calendar year in the page text.
Service counters have two common approach configurations. With a parallel approach, the accessible portion must be at least 36 inches long and no higher than 36 inches. With a forward approach, it must be at least 30 inches long and no higher than 36 inches, with knee and toe space below. In an alteration where a longer accessible counter would reduce existing work stations, the accessible portion may be at least 24 inches long if the required clear floor space is centered on it.
The ADA sales-and-service provisions explicitly name 3 restaurant line or queue settings: food service lines, queues, and waiting lines, where provided. This means accessibility analysis extends beyond seated tables to the way customers approach ordering, pickup, and service points.
Restrooms and fixtures
Accessible restaurant restroom statistics are mostly dimensional. Clearance around an accessible water closet must be at least 60 inches wide, measured perpendicular to the side wall, and 56 inches deep, measured perpendicular to the rear wall. The water-closet centerline must be 16 to 18 inches from the side wall or partition, and the top of the seat must be 17 to 19 inches above the finished floor.
Grab bars have their own length and placement requirements. A side-wall grab bar must be at least 42 inches long, no more than 12 inches from the rear wall, and extend at least 54 inches from the rear wall. A rear-wall grab bar must be at least 36 inches long and extend at least 12 inches on one side and 24 inches on the other side of the toilet centerline.
Other fixture measurements can affect independent use. The toilet-paper dispenser centerline must be 7 to 9 inches in front of the water closet, with its outlet 15 to 48 inches above the floor and not behind the grab bar. The bottom edge of a mirror above a lavatory or countertop must be no more than 40 inches above the finished floor. A restroom shelf must be 40 to 48 inches above the finished floor, while an accessible lavatory or sink’s higher rim or counter surface must be no more than 34 inches above the floor. A hand-operated metering faucet must remain open for at least 10 seconds.
These measurements concern accessible components and clearances. They should not be read as a count of compliant restaurant restrooms across a city, state, or the country.
Reach ranges and circulation
Restaurant controls and self-service items must be reachable within defined vertical and depth limits. For an unobstructed forward reach, the high limit is 48 inches and the low limit is 15 inches above the floor. If the reach crosses an obstruction no deeper than 20 inches, the high limit remains 48 inches. If the obstruction is deeper than 20 inches, the high reach limit is 44 inches and the obstruction depth may be no more than 25 inches.
Circulation also depends on projections and handhold dimensions. A circular accessible grab bar must have an outside diameter of 1 1/4 to 2 inches. The required space between a grab bar and the wall is 1 1/2 inches, while the required space from projecting objects above is 12 inches. Together with the 4-inch projection limit for objects in the 27-to-80-inch height range, these figures describe why a route can appear open yet still need detailed measurement.
Documented restaurant compliance findings
Selected DOJ agreements provide examples of measured conditions at named establishments. They are useful for understanding the kinds of deficiencies that can be documented, but they are not prevalence statistics for the restaurant industry.
At Culver’s of Cedar Falls, the compliance review recorded 0 accessible interior dining surfaces among its booths, banquettes, standard-height tables, and café-height tables. The same review measured a wall-mounted shelf protruding approximately 8 inches into the path of travel, compared with the 4-inch maximum for objects in the relevant height range. Both observations come from the Culver’s agreement, whose page text does not state a calendar year.
At Irish Shanti, the documented findings included 2 designated accessible parking spaces, a 5% entry-stoop slope requiring remediation under the agreement, and a dining-deck boardwalk measured at a 5.7% cross slope. The agreement required that cross slope to be adjusted to no steeper than 2%. These measurements belong to the Irish Shanti 2017 compliance agreement, which identifies Spring 2017 remediation.
At Il Pomod’Oro, the settlement required 4 accessible wheelchair spaces out of 67 available seating spaces, with the spaces dispersed among indoor, outdoor, and bar dining areas. The Il Pomod’Oro settlement records a May 14, 2018 site visit. That establishment-specific result illustrates the 5% dining-surface rule but does not establish how frequently restaurants meet or miss the rule.
Taken together, the standards supply the measurement framework: 1 route to dining areas, 60% compliant public entrances, 5% accessible dining positions, defined parking-space counts, and exact dimensions for doors, ramps, counters, fixtures, and reach ranges. The agreements supply limited examples from particular restaurants and periods. Neither source group is a national survey, so these restaurant accessibility statistics should be used as design benchmarks and documented case findings rather than as an industry-wide compliance rate.